Compare
NSCA CSCS vs NSCA-CPT
Certified Strength and Conditioning Specialist from National Strength and Conditioning Association and NSCA Certified Personal Trainer from National Strength and Conditioning Association, side by side: accreditation, eligibility, exam, cost and renewal, each fact from its cited source.
Key differences
- CSCS requires a bachelor's degree or higher while NSCA-CPT does not.
- The exam fee differs: $475 for CSCS versus $435 for NSCA-CPT.
- The nonmember renewal fee differs: $90 for CSCS versus $60 for NSCA-CPT.
Differences are stated only where both credentials have a known value on record — never inferred against an unknown. No winner is declared; which credential fits depends on your goals. Methodology
Provider
Credential type
certification
certification
Verification
verified
verified
Accreditation
accreditedNCCA(directory-confirmed)
accreditedNCCA(directory-confirmed)
Accredited through
2029-03-31
2029-03-31
Target professional
Strength and conditioning coaches
Personal trainers
Minimum age
unknown
18
Education requirement
Bachelor's degree or higher from an accredited institution (BS/BA), or a terminal degree in Physical Therapy or Chiropractic Medicine; candidates may also sit for the exam while currently enrolled as a college senior at an accredited institution. Official transcript required (US/Canada); international candidates submit copy of final transcript/diploma.
High school diploma (or equivalent)
Degree required
yes — Bachelor's degree or higher
no
Experience requirement
unknown
unknown
CPR/AED to enroll
yes
yes
Other prerequisites
CPR/AED certification must include a hands-on skills performance assessment; candidates without current CPR/AED may still register and test but must submit a valid copy within 1 year of the exam date. All eligibility documentation must be received within one (1) year of the exam date or results become invalid. Candidates must abide by the NSCA Code of Ethics.
Must abide by NSCA policies and procedures, including the Professional Code of Ethics; must receive a passing score on the NSCA-CPT exam.
Exam format
Computer-based multiple-choice exam in two sections: Section 1 Scientific Foundations (1.5 hours; 80 scored + 15 non-scored questions) and Section 2 Practical/Applied (2.5 hours; 110 scored + 15 non-scored questions, 30-40 video- and/or image-based). First-time candidates must complete both sections.
3-hour computer-based multiple-choice exam; 140 scored and 15 non-scored items (155 total), with 25-35 questions presented as video and/or image questions, across domains: Client Consultation/Assessment, Program Planning, Program Execution, Safety/Emergency Procedures and Legal Issues
Question count
220
155
Time limit
240 minutes
180 minutes
Passing score
Cut score set by Exam Development Committee using a modified Angoff methodology; numeric passing score not stated
Cut-score determined by the Exam Development Committee using a modified Angoff methodology (specific score not stated)
Retake policy
Candidates who fail one of the two sections only retake the failed section, which must be retaken within one year of the initial exam date; retake fees apply ($340 member/$475 non-member for both sections; $250 member/$385 non-member for one section).
unknown
Exam / application fees
$340 exam fee member · $475 exam fee nonmember
$300 exam fee member · $435 exam fee nonmember
Renewal required
yes
yes
Renewal cycle
3 years
3 years
CEUs per cycle
6
6
CEU unit system
NSCA CEU (1 contact hour = 0.1 CEU; 10 contact hours = 1.0 CEU; college coursework: 0.5 CEU per semester credit hour, 0.4 per trimester, 0.3 per quarter)
NSCA CEU (1 contact hour = 0.1 CEU; 10 contact hours = 1.0 CEU; 1 semester credit hour = 0.5 CEU, 1 quarter credit hour = 0.3 CEU)
Renewal fees
$65 member · $90 nonmember
$65 member · $60 nonmember
Ethics requirement
no
no
CPR/AED at renewal
yes
yes
Renewal deadline rule
Fixed three-year cycle ending December 31 of the cycle's final year; current 2024-2026 cycle deadline is December 31, 2026. All requirements must be completed between January 1, 2024 (or the certification date, whichever is later) and December 31, 2026.
Fixed three-year reporting period with a common deadline for all certificants: current 2024-2026 cycle ends December 31, 2026. CEUs must be earned between January 1, 2024 (or the certification date, whichever is later) and December 31, 2026.
Reinstatement
unknown
unknown
Credential status
active
active
Last verified
2026-09-03
2026-09-03
CEU recognition
NSCA pre-approved third-party CE providers (e.g., Human Kinetics) (approved ceu provider) · National Commission for Certifying Agencies (NCCA) (accepts ceus from)
National Commission for Certifying Agencies (NCCA)-accredited certification programs (accepts ceus from) · Third-party organizations/businesses offering NSCA pre-approved home study courses (approved ceu provider) · Non-approved home study / outside educational activities (Personal Development) (accepts ceus from)
Categories
Strength & Conditioning, Sports Performance
Personal Training
Compare something else
Related comparisons
ACE-CPT vs NSCA-CPTACE-GFI vs NSCA-CPTACSM-CPT vs NSCA-CPTACTION-CPT vs NSCA-CPTAFAA-CGFI vs NSCA-CPTIFPA-CPFT vs NSCA-CPTIPTA CPT vs NSCA-CPTNASM-CPT vs NSCA-CPTNCCPT-CPT vs NSCA-CPTNCSF-CPT vs NSCA-CPTNESTA PFT vs NSCA-CPTNETA-CGEI vs NSCA-CPTNETA-CPT vs NSCA-CPTNFPT-CPT vs NSCA-CPTNPCP NCPT vs NSCA-CPTNSCA-CPT vs W.I.T.S. CPT
Full records: Certified Strength and Conditioning Specialist · NSCA Certified Personal Trainer
Look up a credential before you pay for it.
Browsing the register is free. Plans add tracking, alerts and team tools.