Compare

NSCA-CPT vs NSCA TSAC-F

NSCA Certified Personal Trainer from National Strength and Conditioning Association and Tactical Strength and Conditioning Facilitator from National Strength and Conditioning Association, side by side: accreditation, eligibility, exam, cost and renewal, each fact from its cited source.

Key differences

  • The nonmember renewal fee differs: $60 for NSCA-CPT versus $80 for TSAC-F.
  • Both credentials are currently NCCA accredited, confirmed in the accreditor's directory.
  • Both renew on a 3-year cycle.

Differences are stated only where both credentials have a known value on record — never inferred against an unknown. No winner is declared; which credential fits depends on your goals. Methodology

Credential type
certification
certification
Verification
verified
verified
Accreditation
accreditedNCCA(directory-confirmed)
accreditedNCCA(directory-confirmed)
Accredited through
2029-03-31
2030-07-31
Target professional
Personal trainers
Tactical strength and conditioning professionals
Minimum age
18
18
Education requirement
High school diploma (or equivalent)
High school diploma (or equivalent)
Degree required
no
no
Experience requirement
unknown
unknown
CPR/AED to enroll
yes
yes
Other prerequisites
Must abide by NSCA policies and procedures, including the Professional Code of Ethics; must receive a passing score on the NSCA-CPT exam.
Current CPR/AED certification (must include a hands-on skills performance assessment); candidates without it may still register and test but must submit valid CPR/AED documentation within 1 year of the exam date. Must abide by NSCA Code of Ethics.
Exam format
3-hour computer-based multiple-choice exam; 140 scored and 15 non-scored items (155 total), with 25-35 questions presented as video and/or image questions, across domains: Client Consultation/Assessment, Program Planning, Program Execution, Safety/Emergency Procedures and Legal Issues
Multiple-choice examination (130 scored and 20 non-scored items) across domains including Exercise Science, Nutrition, Exercise Technique, Program Design, Assessment and Evaluation, Wellness Intervention, and Organization and Administration
Question count
155
150
Time limit
180 minutes
180 minutes
Passing score
Cut-score determined by the Exam Development Committee using a modified Angoff methodology (specific score not stated)
Cut-score set by the Exam Development Committee using a modified Angoff methodology; specific score not stated
Retake policy
unknown
unknown
Exam / application fees
$300 exam fee member · $435 exam fee nonmember
$435 exam fee nonmember · $300 exam fee member
Renewal required
yes
yes
Renewal cycle
3 years
3 years
CEUs per cycle
6
6
CEU unit system
NSCA CEU (1 contact hour = 0.1 CEU; 10 contact hours = 1.0 CEU; 1 semester credit hour = 0.5 CEU, 1 quarter credit hour = 0.3 CEU)
NSCA CEU (1 contact hour = 0.1 CEU; 10 contact hours = 1.0 CEU; 1 semester credit hour = 0.5 CEU, 1 quarter credit hour = 0.3 CEU)
Renewal fees
$65 member · $60 nonmember
$55 member · $80 nonmember
Ethics requirement
no
no
CPR/AED at renewal
yes
yes
Renewal deadline rule
Fixed three-year reporting period with a common deadline for all certificants: current 2024-2026 cycle ends December 31, 2026. CEUs must be earned between January 1, 2024 (or the certification date, whichever is later) and December 31, 2026.
Fixed three-year reporting cycle with a common deadline of December 31 of the final cycle year (deadline December 31, 2026 for the 2024-2026 cycle) for all certificants; CEU totals prorated by original certification date.
Reinstatement
unknown
unknown
Credential status
active
active
Last verified
2026-09-03
2026-09-03
CEU recognition
National Commission for Certifying Agencies (NCCA)-accredited certification programs (accepts ceus from) · Third-party organizations/businesses offering NSCA pre-approved home study courses (approved ceu provider) · Non-approved home study / outside educational activities (Personal Development) (accepts ceus from)
National Commission for Certifying Agencies (NCCA)-accredited certification programs (fitness, sport, or exercise nutrition) (accepts ceus from) · Other organizations/businesses offering NSCA pre-approved home study courses (including Human Kinetics) (approved ceu provider) · First Aid certification providers (e.g., Red Cross, American Heart Association, National CPR Foundation) (accepts ceus from) · Non-pre-approved home studies, podcasts, journals, books and other outside educational activities (accepts ceus from)
Categories
Personal Training
Strength & Conditioning, Tactical Strength & Conditioning
Official page

Compare something else

Related comparisons

Full records: NSCA Certified Personal Trainer · Tactical Strength and Conditioning Facilitator

Look up a credential before you pay for it.

Browsing the register is free. Plans add tracking, alerts and team tools.