Credentials / International Sports Sciences Association

ISSA Lifespan Coach Certification

Verified: this record was checked against its official source. Last verified 2026-09-03. 6 sources on file.

At a glance

Credential type
certification
Status
active
Target professional
Fitness professionals and coaches
Country
US
Official page
Recertification page
unknown
Categories
Older Adult Fitness, Youth Performance, Nutrition Coaching, Recovery

Accreditation

No accreditation on record — status unknown. Absence of a claim is recorded honestly rather than guessed.

Eligibility & examination

Eligibility

Minimum age
18
Education
unknown
Degree required
no
Experience
No prior experience needed
CPR/AED
yes
Other prerequisites
Enroll in the program, complete all course quizzes to unlock the final exam, pass the ISSA certification exam, and upload a valid CPR/AED card

ISSA catalog FAQ states general student prerequisites: "Must be 18+ with CPR/AED certification. No prior experience needed." The Lifespan Coach product page itself lists no specific prerequisites; the certification process is enroll, pass exam, upload CPR card, receive certification. ISSA's CPT-focused guidance additionally mentions a high school diploma or GED and no college degree required, but this is not stated specifically for the Lifespan Coach Certification. CPR/AED certificate must be valid at least 30 days beyond submission date; hands-on or ISSA-approved online course accepted.

Examination

Format
Online, open-book, open-note final exam completed on your own schedule; ISSA exams generally include multiple-choice and, in some courses, written sections (home study/mail submission also possible)
Online exam
yes
Testing center
unknown
Length
unknown
Questions
unknown
Passing score
ISSA general FAQ states a score of 70% or better on the final examination (another FAQ answer states 75% or better on all sections)
Attempts included
2
Retake policy
If you fail any portion of the exam, you may resubmit that portion free of charge (second attempt). Each retest beyond the second attempt incurs an administrative fee.

Initial certification costs

  • $639 — Lifespan Coach Certification – one-time purchase (course + exam)
  • $53 — Lifespan Coach Certification – 12 monthly payments at 0% interest ($53 today, then $53/mo)

Renewal & CEU requirements

2 yr
renewal cycle
20
CEUs per cycle
$99
renewal
Recertification required
yes
CEU unit system
ISSA Continuing Education Units (CEUs) — 20 units per 2-year certification period
Ethics requirement
unknown
CPR/AED at renewal
yes
Deadline rule
CEUs and renewal submission must be completed before the certification expiration date listed in the Student Portal; may renew up to one year early (new period begins from original expiration date). One-year grace period after expiration with a late fee; after one year, full course re-enrollment required.

General ISSA recertification policy: certifications are valid for 2 years; renew by completing 20 CEUs, maintaining current CPR/AED, and submitting renewal in the Student Portal (3-5 business days processing). Standard $99 renewal fee may be waived if all 20 CEUs are completed through ISSA; 'Certify for Life' option eliminates future renewal fees. Extra CEUs cannot be carried over to the next period. CPR/AED must be valid at least 30 days beyond submission date. Lifespan Coach product page does not state credential-specific renewal terms; ISSA-wide policy applied.

CEU recognition

  • ISSA (approved third-party providers) — accepts ceus from
    Third-party CEUs must meet ISSA CEU requirements and are subject to review; documentation (certificate of completion, transcript with grade, or proof of attendance) uploaded via Student Portal. Approved sources include ISSA CE courses, industry conferences/workshops, college/university courses, industry certifications, internships, and published articles.

Sources (6)

Latest verification activity: initial verification → confirmed (2026-09-06) · reverification → confirmed (2026-09-06) · initial verification → confirmed (2026-09-06) · initial verification → confirmed (2026-09-04) · reverification → confirmed (2026-09-03)

Look up a credential before you pay for it.

Browsing the register is free. Plans add tracking, alerts and team tools.